My First Decorated Cake!

Decorating By beautifully_mad Updated 9 Nov 2017 , 2:39am by remnant3333

beautifully_mad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beautifully_mad Posted 8 Nov 2017 , 5:09am
post #1 of 6

This is my first time decorating a cake. This was a practice cake for one that I will be doing for a friend later this week. She wanted a rainbow theme and so I marbled the actual cake. The cake itself was a basic Vanilla cake, but I also added a bit of almond flavoring to attempt to bring out more of the vanilla, but I think I put in a bit too much. I froze the cakes overnight before frosting.

The frosting is a homemade buttercream frosting. Turned out pretty great in consistency and flavor. However the frosting of the cake did not go too easily. I am using a turntable and my straight spatula and while it wasn't perfectly smooth it was at least mostly working. Except in one spot. No matter what I did, putting more icing down, warming up the spatula, placing the cake in the fridge for a few minutes to help stiffen it up; no matter what I did, the icing from one particular spot would not stay on.

Next was the fondant. The person it is for didn't like the taste of fondant, but the cake design she specifically picked out had some (that and I wanted to try my hand at fondant as well), so as a compromise of sorts, I make rolled buttercream instead. I chose this because it was supposed to be used like fondant but taste like buttercream and that seemed the best of both worlds. I dont know if I really screwed something up or if it was always that difficult to make and handle rolled buttercream. I had a tough time getting it to the point of being dough like enough to be rolled out, and it ended up with me putting at least twice as much powdered sugar and alternating between throwing it all in the freezer for a couple minutes to harden it up a bit and taking it out to work on it before it warms up and stops holding its form as well.