Newbie Needing Help

Decorating By Phillippab Updated 20 Oct 2017 , 5:11pm by inthekitchen2

Phillippab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Phillippab Posted 18 Oct 2017 , 9:11pm
post #1 of 5

Newbie Needing Help

Making a devils shirt cake for my son in November. Decided to have a practice at the logo and didnt go well. Tried in fondant and it just looks pants. How would you all make this. Im not a processional and only make a cake once a year for my son this is the only thing i just cant get my head around

4 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 18 Oct 2017 , 9:28pm
post #2 of 5

I would find someplace that prints icing sheet and put it on a thin fondant plaque  OR have it printed on wafer paper which can be place directly on an iced cake.  Some Wal-Marts, grocery stores, or a cake supply shop should be able to print it for you

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 18 Oct 2017 , 9:41pm
post #3 of 5

what about you make a copy the size you want-- cover both sides with clear packing tape or laminate it -- cut it out and then cut out significant areas of design -- like the eyebrows -- but not all the way -- leave it connected by little bits -- like if you cut out his chin -- you can eyeball most of the "e" and "i"but you can make a cut on the outer edges of those letters -- just pick out essential places to cut -- and fill in the blanks -- kwim?

so dry out your fondant piece -- cut it in this shape or whatever shape -- trace the logo -- fill in using americolor gourmet markers -- you can even cut the tip if you want to make it pointier -- but don't use them like a marker on paper use a soft touch --

or you could do a frozen buttercream buttercream -- 

best to you -- you got this 

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 18 Oct 2017 , 9:45pm
post #4 of 5