Fragile Cake Help!

Decorating By Beccca_bakes Updated 7 Oct 2017 , 2:04pm by cutiger

Beccca_bakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beccca_bakes Posted 6 Oct 2017 , 4:22pm
post #1 of 5

Hello everyone! First time posting here. I'm pretty new to decorating and today I have a birthday cake that was supposed to be a beer can. It's been a disaster start to finish (leaning, bulging, humid weather, fondant disintegrating) but I think it looks acceptable at the moment since it's for a friend. My problem is she picks it up at 5 tonight and then drives 2hrs. I'm worried about it collapsing during transit and don't know what to do. I have the top half of the cake supported with straws and I've doweled it  but it still seems to be unsecured. Any advice on what else I could do? Thanks!! 

Fragile Cake Help!

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 6 Oct 2017 , 8:28pm
post #2 of 5

chill it -- not in the freezer -- the fridge --

make a box to completely seal it into -- secure a few frozen things in there, pot pies, frozen veggies whatever you got that's frozen, ice even -- i use ice packs wrapped in a paper towel to collect condensation and slid into a zip lock bag -- wired securely into the corners -- use corrugated cardboard like a moving box -- make it the same size as your bottom board and it won't slide -- 

make the opening in the front on a side panel not the top -- seal the cold cake into the box with tape --

as soon as the cake is cold -- which time is escaping depending on what time zone you're in -- seal the cake inside the box -- it will stay cold for hours --

listen, people are gonna dig the sh*t our of it -- it's amazing -- they will love it so you love it too -- love it like it's the mona lisa-- you got this

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 6 Oct 2017 , 8:44pm
post #3 of 5

*out