Freezing Cakes?

Baking By Nikkolebee Updated 9 Aug 2017 , 7:52pm by kakeladi

Nikkolebee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nikkolebee Posted 9 Aug 2017 , 7:09am
post #1 of 6

Hi all! I had a question. I'm still learning many things about Cake baking and decorating and I know it is definitely possible to freeze cakes but I'm still in the phase where I bake them till the day before or the day of because I'm afraid they will lose their freshness and moisture. Now that I've become more busy with orders, I've been really thinking about baking my cakes a couple days before and throwing them in the freezer. For example, I have three cakes due on Saturday so I was thinking of possibly baking them on Wednesday, freezing them, and taking them out on Friday and allowing them to thaw out a bit to begin decorating. Would this work? Or would it be better to bake them on Thursday and then freeze them over night for Friday. The only thing is that, I hear many people freeze their cakes but when it's from scratch. I work from a store boxed mix but I substitute water with milk and vegetable oil with butter and add an extra egg, all to increase the quality of the boxed mix. So, mainly, I would just like to know if anyone can tell me if it's okay to start my baking by Wednesday (or if Thursday would be better) and then freezing them? I highly struggle with getting my cakes done on time and I would really like to change that and possibly start having them ready by the night before. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! 

5 replies
640Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
640Cake Posted 9 Aug 2017 , 1:21pm
post #2 of 6

Scratch or box, you can freeze your cakes.  The only difference I have read about is between oil cakes vs butter cakes (butter cakes take a bit longer to come to room temp, so some mistake a still chilled cake as a dry cake simply because the butter has not come to room temp yet).