How Would You Feel About This?

Business By Carla83 Updated 7 Aug 2017 , 3:57pm by cakenerdz

Carla83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Carla83 Posted 6 Aug 2017 , 2:49am
post #1 of 18

I'm new to baking and decorating as a business but I've been doing it for a few years for friends and family.  I had my first order picked up today that was not for a friend or family member.  The mom and I spent several days going over designs and prices.  She settled on a 3 layer 8" round vanilla cake and 12 pineapple cupcakes to which she would add a topper for the cake and picks to the cupcakes.  Agreed upon price was $60.  On pickup this morning she and her mother were both happy with the cake and cupcakes and the customer had agreed to send me a picture once she set them up with the picks and toppers for the cake and that I would use the pic for advertisement (credited her for her toppers and picks).  She sent me a picture, told me she loved them.  About two hours later a mutual friend that I had sent a picture of the completed cake to sends me a new picture the mom posted to facebook and the cake is barely recognizable.  She added things around the sides that covered up most of the icing design and a ton of different toppers that she hadn't sent me.  It was beautiful, she handmade most of these things and it looked great.  But who's cake did this become?  I would never ever take credit for her decorations and I would hope she wouldn't take credit for my cake.  I know she didn't have me do all of those things because she was trying to cut costs, she was very candid as we selected designs that were within her budget so I understand.  But I feel like the cake became no man's land and neither of us are going to get the credit we should, especially considering advertisement is purely visual. 
 Pictures are "as ordered and delivered", the "decorated" pic she sent me, and the "redecorated" version. Thoughts?