Bro-Deal For A Wedding Cake & Cupcakes

Business By flecktone01 Updated 10 Aug 2017 , 7:10pm by johnson6ofus

flecktone01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flecktone01 Posted 5 Aug 2017 , 11:07pm
post #1 of 12

Hi there! 

This I kinda long. I apologize in advance.

I'm very new to the business. And being home based, I haven't set standard rates yet. I know I'm really behind on that.

That said, I agreed to do a wedding cake for an old coworker/friend.  She wants 85 cupcakes (nothing fancy) and a 6" gluten-free semi naked cake for her and her husband. It'll be my first GF attempt. It won't be too fancy either, but we haven't nailed down exact decorations yet. 

i work full time (graveyard shift/weekends) and her wedding is about an hour away up a large mountain. I'll also be attending the wedding. I ended up having to take two days off of work (using 20 hours of paid vacation time) to do the cake and attend. We aren't super close, so if I weren't doing the cake I probably wouldn't have been invited, or wouldn't have attended if I had.i don't have a lot of vacation time.

Alllll that said, I don't know what to charge.  She knows I'm new at this and don't know what to charge, so we are trying to come up with fair pricing.  She came back with her first suggestion, which is $1 per cupcake, so $85 for that portion. 

My first instinct is that it's kinda low even for a bro deal. I recently charged $2 a cupcake for a different job for an old friend from high school. I don't know what to say to it. Maybe I should take the $85 and charge a bit more for the 6" cake? 

i just feel really lost. Amy suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 

11 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 5 Aug 2017 , 11:11pm
post #2 of 12