How Do I Prevent Bulges And Tears In Fondant?

Decorating By CupCake.Goddess Updated 2 Aug 2017 , 4:35pm by CupCake.Goddess

CupCake.Goddess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CupCake.Goddess Posted 27 Jul 2017 , 3:26pm
post #1 of 19

Hello all!

I'm new to decorating with fondant and have been having issues with MMF.  It covers the cake smoothly until I get to the bottom.  No matter how much I smooth it with my fondant smoother or hands, it always bubbles or tears especially at the base of the cake! I don't know if I'm using too much icing under the cake but when the fondant mixes with it, this is what happens.  I often have to cover the bottom of my cakes to hide any imperfections.  Can anyone tell me how to avoid this?   

Teapot cake with fruit and crackers made from fondant:

My first fondant cake:

18 replies
inthekitchen2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
inthekitchen2 Posted 27 Jul 2017 , 6:35pm
post #2 of 19

Is your cake really cold when you add the fondant? 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 27 Jul 2017 , 6:48pm
post #3 of 19

I think it might be a combinatin of too thick b'cream undercoat &/or that you are rolling the fondant too thin.  Bubbleing most likely is from the undercoat not being smooth.  Unlike the other poster I almost never worked on cold cake - almost always at room temp so I don't think that is the problem

CupCake.Goddess Posted 27 Jul 2017 , 7:49pm
post #4 of 19

Hmm...the first one wasn't. I let it come to room temperature from the fridge.  The second one was ice cold and I still had the same issue.  I don't know what I'm doing wrong.  I'm thinking of giving up on MMF. :(

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 28 Jul 2017 , 12:50am
post #5 of 19