Wedding Cake Equipment Deposit Fiasco

Business By Andy66119 Updated 20 Jul 2017 , 4:59am by johnson6ofus

Andy66119 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Andy66119 Posted 14 Jul 2017 , 5:23am
post #1 of 17

Hello,

I'm new to the forums here and am sorry if someone else has asked this question already.

I am a culinary arts student and recently completed my first four tiered wedding cake.

I had the bride fill out a contract, and required a deposit for the cake, and an equipment deposit for the pillars and cake seperators. She paid the cake deposit with a check wich I cashed no problem. The other equipment deposit I told her I would hold the check and only cash it if she did not return the equipment clean and free of damage within 3 days after the wedding. All of this is outlined in the contract wich both of us have a copy of.

Four days after the wedding I have still not recieved the equipment. The bride calls me and tells me she is too busy with family in town and that there will be no way she can drop off the equipment and to just cash the check. So I mobile deposit the check into my bank account.

Four hours later the husband comes with a box of the equipment and drops it off at my doorstep.

I immediately texted the bride to let her know that I had already deposited the check however I would send her a check in the mail for the equipment deposit.

She texts back saying I am completely impossible to work with and that her account is going to bounce. She then starts complaining about the cake. (Based on the text messages, apparently she wanted me to use a boxed white cake mix instead of from scratch who in there right mind wants a wedding cake made from a white cake mix???)

At any rate I send her a money order for the equipment deposit back. The next day I see that her check was returned. I text her, and she tells me she will send the money order back when it arrives at her house.