Customer Wants Perfection And I'm Not Perfect.

Decorating By jordosara Updated 3 Jul 2017 , 8:58pm by kakeladi

jordosara Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jordosara Posted 3 Jul 2017 , 2:20am
post #1 of 8

Customer Wants Perfection And I'm Not Perfect.

Hello!  This is my first post ever on cake central, although I read the forum and blogs daily.  I'm hoping someone can help me out.  I am an at home baker.  I have not been decorating cakes for that long.  Maybe a year.  Each time I improve but I would not say I am nearly at the level of some of my fellow bakers when it comes to neatness, mistakes etc with fondant.  2 of my friends tagged me in a post for a lady looking for a bapstism cake.  I sent her a message and advised her it would be $250.  She wants the EXACT cake but I advised her I only do round cakes at the moment so it was up to her if she wanted to proceed.  She send me the following message in response:"I don't mind paying $250 but I needs to be picture perfect perfect lines the cross has to be the same along with the bow needs to be extra perfect there can't be no line's the are messed up"

So now I have a dilemma. As I said, I have yet to produce a "perfect" cake. She has seen examples of my work and is fully aware of what I am capable of yet her response made me nervous. Could I use the $250?? yes. Is it worth be bashed on the internet if she finds a mistake ??? Nope. I though about replying to her saying: "My skill level is visible by looking at my portfolio of past cakes I completed. I can make every effort to produce a "perfect" cake but xyz....."

Is this even worth it? What do you guys think? Thanks in advance!

7 replies
rdjr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rdjr Posted 3 Jul 2017 , 3:45am
post #2 of 8