What Type Of Freezer Do You Use For Your Home Based Bakery?

Business By renadamc Updated 5 Sep 2019 , 6:05pm by renadamc

renadamc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
renadamc Posted 6 Apr 2017 , 6:19pm
post #1 of 9

Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie to home based baking, and I want to have a dedicated freezer for my cakes, perhaps a fridge with freezer.  To all my home based bakers, what brand/type of freezer do you have?  What is working well for you and what isn't?  Thanks so much everyone!

8 replies
maybenot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maybenot Posted 6 Apr 2017 , 7:40pm
post #2 of 9

I have a fairly inexpensive Kenmore self-defrosting upright freezer with moveable wire shelves.  I love it.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 6 Apr 2017 , 9:05pm
post #3 of 9

Best to have manuel defrost, no self-defrosting   Self-defrosting removed too much air, causing items that might not be wrapped well enough to dry out.   Also, a chest type freezes better, but is much less convient for our use so I suggest an upright :) 

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 6 Apr 2017 , 10:09pm
post #4 of 9

Upright, definitely non-self defrosting.  Freezers maintain no frost by cycling the temp up and down, so your baked goods can freeze and thaw too.

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 7 Apr 2017 , 1:09am
post #5 of 9

MANUAL DEFROST, upright with shelves.    Dedicate ONLY to cake related items and do not store any other family food items like meats or vegetables.