Ny Cottage Laws

Business By Amaviles Updated 21 Mar 2017 , 3:39pm by Amaviles

Amaviles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amaviles Posted 21 Mar 2017 , 5:34am
post #1 of 8

So im just a hobby baker for now, but would live to grow and be able to make cakes for profit, i feel so lost when it comes to permirs/liscenses i may need to start a home based bakery. sometimes i wonder if its worth it, since ive seen so many not allowed foods in NY. So was wondering if anyone has any experience with this, is it worth it??? :/ 

7 replies
TC123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TC123 Posted 21 Mar 2017 , 12:24pm
post #2 of 8

Hi... I live in NJ. I've been doing hobby cakes for 20+ years. I just wanted to say that, in my opinion, whether or not it is worth it depends on how much you want to do your hobby as a business. And work it like a business (i.e., knowing your costs, and how many cakes you need to make to break even before making a profit, record keeping for income tax purposes, etc.).

Sometimes I wish I could do cakes as a business. Lots of family and friends over the years have urged me to seriously consider it. But in NJ (and PA), it's not easy, whether it be cottage laws or a store-front bakery. The investment is significant where I lived (NJ & PA). And because I love making special cakes for people, I (personally) wouldn't want to do it if the "business" end of it would interfere with the love and enjoyment I have making cakes for people. ... So! I'm a happy hobby baker! <3

Anyway, I'm sure you'll here from bakers in NY who can help you better. I just wanted to share my thoughts and point of view. (I hope you don't mind.)

I sincerely wish you the best with your decision, too! Just make sure to always like what you do! (((Hugs)))

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 21 Mar 2017 , 1:38pm
post #3 of 8