What Steps To Take For Decorating

Decorating By CarlieCake Updated 14 Feb 2017 , 5:59pm by Miss.Reynolds

CarlieCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CarlieCake Posted 13 Feb 2017 , 6:49pm
post #1 of 12

Help! I am making a Harry Potter cake for my son's upcoming 10th birthday and want to make sure I get it right. I'm pretty new to this. The recipe calls for ganache then fondant, but I was thinking of using buttercream instead. Would that be ok? And I was thinking of baking it one day, frosting it the following, then decorating with the fondant layers and decorations on the 3rd, the day of the party. Thanks!

11 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 13 Feb 2017 , 8:03pm
post #2 of 12

Before the ganache thing, we always used buttercream under fondant.  I would have the cake completed the night before the day of the party, though.  You'll be busy enough without the stress of caking.

CarlieCake Posted 13 Feb 2017 , 11:29pm
post #3 of 12

Thank you! So do I stick the frosted cake in the fridge? Freezer? Wrapped? 

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 13 Feb 2017 , 11:36pm
post #4 of 12

I just leave mine on the counter, but I don't use perishable fillings.

CarlieCake Posted 14 Feb 2017 , 3:32pm
post #5 of 12

Thanks!

Miss.Reynolds Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Miss.Reynolds Posted 14 Feb 2017 , 3:42pm
post #6 of 12

Hi! I made a Harry Potter book cake (in my pictures and I used A stiff buttercream under the fondant. However, when it was time to place the "page lines" on the side of the cake the buttercream under the fondant was almost at room temp and soft so it was harder to keep my fondant in place. What design are you going with? Oh, and breaking the cake baking, icing and decorating up is an excellent idea. It saves your hair and fingernails from all the stress! lol. 

CarlieCake Posted 14 Feb 2017 , 3:46pm
post #7 of 12