Is There Organic Cake Flour?

Baking By msbelle21 Updated 16 Mar 2017 , 11:13pm by -K8memphis

msbelle21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msbelle21 Posted 19 Jan 2017 , 3:55am
post #1 of 20

I'm a scratch baker who makes all of my cakes with cake flour. I've been playing with my recipes and want to convert them to organic, but I'm yet to find organic cake flour.

The cake flour brand I normally use is Softasilk, which has a protein content of 6.9%. I've seen some organic pastry flours, but many are whole wheat, have higher protein contents, and don't seem suitable for what I'm trying to achieve really.

While doing a Google search, I came across a blog that mentioned that there's an organic unbleached cake flour by Bob's Red Mill, but I see no mention of it on their website.

The only quality flour I've found through all my researching is Giusto's unbleached high ratio cake flour at 7.0-8.0%. Although it's not certified organic, their website does say that they use natural and organic ingredients and their products don't contain any chemicals or preservatives. This is my plan B if I'm unable to find what I'm looking for, unfortunately, as although there are organic AP flours, I don't like how dense AP makes my cakes and the kind of crumb it produces.

Is there such a thing or am I on a wild goose chase? Is anyone baking with organic cake flour in the US?

19 replies
OHaresTstyTrts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OHaresTstyTrts Posted 19 Jan 2017 , 5:56am
post #2 of 20

I have seen a couple different brands of organic cake flours. I saw one at whole foods and an organic cake flour came up in my search recently but I didn't read the labels. I was just searching to see if it was possible. I was actually going to look into this myself as I am adding organic as an option this year. I would be interested to see what other people have found.

Siftandwisk2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Siftandwisk2 Posted 19 Jan 2017 , 3:16pm
post #3 of 20