I Swear I Am Not Making This Up...need Help

Baking By rocketmom1985 Updated 21 Nov 2016 , 6:16pm by rocketmom1985

rocketmom1985 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rocketmom1985 Posted 19 Nov 2016 , 5:10pm
post #1 of 11

I am just a hobby baker and decided to make some cake layers to freeze to get a bit ahead for the holidays.  My DH who is such a great guy offered to help weigh out the dry ingredients for Kara's Perfect Chocolate cake recipe.  I printed out the recipe and as I was doing other things in another room.  Suddenly he calls out that there is "too much dry ingredients to fit in the mixer".  Thinking he is nuts since I have a 6 qt KA, I mosey into the kitchen,  He is right.  I look at the recipe I had printed.  Apparently i tripled the recipe on the recipe calculator to see what I would need to make the recipe three times.  I was floored. How could I have done that?  So, we put all the dry ingredients into a huge XL bowl and mixed them up. I now have the dry ingredients for  three recipes.  

I am really math challenged so bear with me.  I have 39 oz of flour, 64 oz of sugar, 9 oz of dutch cocoa powder, 2.25 tsp salt and 7.5 tsp baking powder all nicely mixed together with a whisk.  Since we have a triple recipe I can divide that into three and just store the dry until ready to make the cake.  HOWEVER, just dividing into three may be a problem.  First, I have no way to weigh the total ingredients.  OK, so I think I can just add up the total oz and divide by three and be done, but I am wondering if that is going work.  I added salt and baking powder so would that screw up the weight?  I cannot imagine that the BP and salt would be that much weight.  But I am afraid that it would affect the finished cake.  Ya think that the salt and baking powder weight is going to muck up my math?  I haven't done anything with it yet, it is still in the big 'ol bowl.