Why Do My Cupcakes Look Like This

Baking By Bruceylovescake Updated 25 Oct 2016 , 5:32pm by tennacvol

Bruceylovescake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bruceylovescake Posted 22 Oct 2016 , 1:57am
post #1 of 8

[postimage id="5406" thumb="900"][postimage id="5407" thumb="900"][postimage id="5408" thumb="900"]

Hi guys I've been baking for over a year so I'm still an amateur lol! 

Ive done some research on the appearance of my cupcakes and altered the recipe/sifted but I am still left with these holes at the top of my cupcakes

any idea why they look like this from the top?! My cakes (6/7/8 inch) also take longer than an hour to bake and always crack from the top after rising then reduce in size when cooled down! My oven can't be too hot since I have it at the average temperature.

i hate attached photos from two different bakes

Please help! Thanks in advance

7 replies
remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 22 Oct 2016 , 2:50am
post #2 of 8

I have never heard of a cupcake taking one hour to bake. As to what is causing holes, I have no idea.  Do the cupcakes taste moist? Have you switched to different brands of anything lately?  When using sugar make sure it reads cane sugar on it.  I am assuming they are from scratch since you say you altered the recipe. Did you switch to a new recipe? Just a few questions that others will probably want to know in order for them to determine what is happening. 

Hopefully, others here with more experience will step in and give you reasons why these cupcakes are taking so long to bake and why all the holes in them. 

Bruceylovescake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bruceylovescake Posted 22 Oct 2016 , 6:17am
post #3 of 8

No my cakes are the ones that take longer than the hour to bake, not cupcakes! worried.png