Fondant Covered Wedding Cake

Baking By LettieKaye Updated 17 Oct 2016 , 9:44pm by kakeladi

LettieKaye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LettieKaye Posted 16 Oct 2016 , 9:52pm
post #1 of 6

I'm new at this!  My cakes with dirty icing in freezer: 3 layers, 12, 8, 5 inch all 4 inch high

• How long to defrost before starting on them?
  • Can I put an additional 2nd layer of light buttercream frosting on & firm in fridge before using fondant?
  • Best way to roll out fondant to cover cake: crisco, powdered sugar, cornstarch?
  • When each layer is covered with fondant can I stack them & decorate them day before wedding and then how do I store finished cake until the next day? Or should I wait and stack and finish the morning of wedding?
  • I don't have boxes and was planning on doing a light wrapping with freezer paper stapled around edges to keep air out night before.  Ideas?

Fondant Flowers:

• Best combination for flowers 50/50 70/30 mixture of fondant & gum paste?
  • After flowers are made how long can I store them?
  • Should they be stored in dry Wilton flower storage containers?

Thank you

5 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 17 Oct 2016 , 3:19am
post #2 of 6
  • How long to defrost before starting on them?
  • Answer:  They should defrost within a few hours.  Of course the 12" will take at least an hour longer than the others.  You might want to take them from the fzr to the frig overnight.

• Can I put an additional 2nd layer of light buttercream frosting on & firm in fridge before using fondant?
  • Answer:Yes you can put more b'cream on but no need to firm it up in the frig.

• Best way to roll out fondant to cover cake: crisco, powdered sugar, cornstarch?
  • Answer: I found a very, very thin coating of crisco worked best for me.   Others use a 1/2 & 1/2 sugar, cornstarch mixture.