Not Doing Wedding Cakes Any More.

Business By SweetDesire88 Updated 5 Oct 2016 , 8:31pm by sweettooth101

SweetDesire88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetDesire88 Posted 28 Sep 2016 , 12:45am
post #1 of 7

Hi, fellow cake bakers.

I wanted to know if any of you have decided to only do birthday cakes and leave the wedding cakes out.

I've been doing cakes for a few years now but from my experience  I opted to only do birthday cake as in sheet cakes, round cakes and only two tier cakes. 

I made my decision based how much work is but into a single wedding cake and customers saying it's too much for that cake. And having a cake disaster even though it wasn't my fault (by this I mean that I had a customer that told me that she would put the cake in the fridge until it was about time to cut the cake. My cakes are tres leches and are covered in whipping cream these cakes require to be in the fridge until serving or 30 minutes out the fridge before serving.) She didn't do what was told and written on paper that I made her sign. I went to deliver the cake at the venue at 4pm I told the person in charger if I can but it in the fridge he smiled and said the bride didn't tell me that it needed to be in the fridge. When I heard this I only thought the worst. He took me to the kitchen and put the cake   in the fridge. For my sake I took a picture of the cake in the fridge. 

The next day after the wedding I receive some pictures of the cake OMG. The bride called me angry as can be. I listen to her for at least 15 minutes until I interrupted her. I said " I am sorry I can't help you, you signed an agreement that as soon as I left the cake at your venue you where responsable for what happened to the cake." 

She gave me a bad review and so did some of her friends. Although she tried to ruin the cake business a lot of people stood with me. 

I know that its a little crazy just to do birthday cakes but I have 4 kids and they need more of my time than a wedding cake.