Trouble Putting Fondant On To Chilled Cake

Decorating By yazzie Updated 9 Sep 2016 , 3:27am by ElizabethsCakeCreations

yazzie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yazzie Posted 8 Sep 2016 , 8:48am
post #1 of 11

Hi I'm quite new to cake decorating. I am having trouble putting my fondant on to my chilled cake. Ibring my cake out of the fridge ready to put fondant on it goes all sticky and I can't get very smooth as my smothers stick to it and it starts to rip ect.

I haveh rolled my fondant thicker but as I'm a novice by the time I've put the fondant over the cake and laid it over it is sticky and my smo others are sticking to it.

thank you 

10 replies
me_me1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
me_me1 Posted 8 Sep 2016 , 8:55am
post #2 of 11

Hi Yazzie,

I find dusting some corn starch (cornflour, not sure what it's called wherever you are) on the fondant helps if I've got sticky bits. I just dust it on with a large soft paintbrush that I have especially for that purpose.

Hope that helps!

Cheers,
J   :)

Holiver Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Holiver Posted 8 Sep 2016 , 10:45am
post #3 of 11

I always remove my cake from the fridge or cooler around 30-40 mins before I want to put the fondant on this allow the cake to warm up a little and gives the buttercream time to soften enough that smoothing is easier.

I also agree with the cornflour idea if it is slightly sticky =]

Hope this helps =] 

H

810whitechoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
810whitechoc Posted 8 Sep 2016 , 10:45am
post #4 of 11

I don't know if you have aircon, but I have found the best way to fondant a chilled cake is in an airconditioned room.  The aircon dries the condensation straight away so the fondant doesn't get sticky.

yazzie Posted 8 Sep 2016 , 9:06pm
post #5 of 11

Thank you for your replies.