Smbc And The Fridge Question.

Decorating By Julie5 Updated 13 Aug 2016 , 1:13am by Julie5

Julie5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Julie5 Posted 11 Aug 2016 , 11:27pm
post #1 of 5

Hey guys, 

I've only recently started using SMBC so I'm not positive on some things just yet. I am just a hobby baker, so I do t make but 6 cakes a year or so. Here's my question...

I am doing a a small wedding cake for a friend for Saturday. I don't like to rush and am just simply not good enough to do anything last minute.  So basically I baked today (Thursday) and let the cakes cool completely out of the fridge then torted and filled, and crumb coated. Made the icing fresh just before using today. I hope it's not the wrong decision but I put my cakes in the fridge after that point today. I am not planning on final icing till tomorrow so I had planned on leaving them in all night. Do I need to let them sit out tomorrow for a while before final icing? Will they do a sweating process? If so do I wait it out till they quit? I'll be honest that I've only used this type of icing a few times and didn't refrigerate at all last time. It was for a small birthday and I made it day of. Anyway, what should I expect tomorrow when this cake Comes out of the fridge? How long do I need to leave it on counter before final icing? I will be making fresh again tomorrow (again, new at this SMBC so I'm making small batches) . After I finish the final coat and stack, I'd like them to go back in the fridge till Saturday, or should I wait and stack Saturday morning? How long should this final cake sit out before they eat it at the wedding? Again, the sweating is what I'm talking about...  

Thanks for for the help in advance.  This site has been my savior.

4 replies
Frank68 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Frank68 Posted 12 Aug 2016 , 12:35am
post #2 of 5