What Is/who Is A Newbie?

Lounge By kstevens Updated 16 Sep 2016 , 4:58pm by -K8memphis

kstevens Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kstevens Posted 6 Jul 2016 , 3:10pm
post #1 of 54

OK.....I'm gonna be the dumb a$$ to ask this question.  What is/who is a newbie?  

I keep seeing "newbie" used on various threads and it's always in a negative light.  Are newbies those new to this site?  Are they new to cake decorating?  New to the cake business?  All of the above?

I've not been a member all that long so please excuse me if I'm an idiot for asking this but because it pops up so often I was curious as to whom this refers to.

53 replies
mattyeatscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mattyeatscakes Posted 6 Jul 2016 , 5:20pm
post #2 of 54

For me, I think when someone says "I'm a newbie" i'm thinking they mean that they are new to baking or cake decorating. When i see it on cake forums, members would also add hobby baker. I think it's a passive aggressive way of saying that I am new to decorating, don't have enough experience/practice, well here's my work, be gentle. Or I have a question, i know it sounds dumb, please don't shoot me :) hehehe

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 6 Jul 2016 , 5:35pm
post #3 of 54

Anyone who's new to anything and is still learning the basics would be a newb to me.

kstevens Posted 6 Jul 2016 , 6:27pm
post #4 of 54

I haven't noticed anyone referring to themselves as a newbie.  It seems to be more of a negative tag coming from members to describe other members on the site.  It just made me stop and wonder if it meant new to the site and if we were (really) welcomed?  

I'm not thin skinned and all offended, sitting here trying to type through the tears, but didn't want to be weighing in on the forums if I was somehow ruining it for the "old timers".