Mmf Fondant Or No?

Decorating By meghanm Updated 4 Jul 2016 , 3:01pm by carolinecakes

meghanm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meghanm Posted 1 Jul 2016 , 12:40pm
post #1 of 9

So up until recently I had only been using MMF fondant, it tastes better than the fondant that I have found in stores and is usually quite a bit cheaper. However in a more recent cake I decided to pick up a box of the Wilton Fondant and realized how much easier it is! Besides the mess that comes with making my own, no matter how many times I make MMF I still have days where I cannot get the consistency right, it is either too hard or too soft. What do you all think? Should I stick with MMF or are there some really good tasting fondants out there?!

8 replies
soldiernurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soldiernurse Posted 1 Jul 2016 , 1:36pm
post #2 of 9

I have to agree with you regarding the inconsistencies..although I am just a hobby baker at present...I started with mmf but needed a rush cake and used Wilton's and found it to be a lot faster..and easier. I thought it was because I was a newbie and I was just not used to mmf yet but maybe not....or maybe so...I dunno. I have found that if you need a colored fondant, it is easier to used pre-made because adding too much gel can effect the consistency. Humidity can too, obviously. I also tried Hobby Lobby's teal fondant and it was a severe FAIL..it cracked and was dry..I could have gotten a bad box [it was the last one on the shelf]. The newer Wilton's Decorator's Preferred tastes better nowadays.

I am going to try LMF which is the combo of the two as I hear/read great things about that. She uses a KA and I used my counter top to make the mmf which was a huge mess and aggravating cleanup.

Just my two sense  :-)

ypierce82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ypierce82 Posted 1 Jul 2016 , 3:53pm
post #3 of 9