Layer Cake Split In Half. Why?

Baking By Lilamj Updated 3 Jun 2016 , 11:18pm by bubs1stbirthday

Lilamj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lilamj Posted 2 Jun 2016 , 3:44pm
post #1 of 29

Hi there,

I'm new here and was wondering if anyone could help me solve a mystery.

I'm a newish baker. I do mostly naked layer cakes for friends and acquaintances, with curd fillings and loads of fresh fruit. That sort of cake.

Yesterday I baked my most popular cake, lemon poppy seed with lemon curd filling and whipped cream. Only two layers of cake. Very simple, very straight forward. Everything went perfectly. I was very pleased (and proud!) with the result. I've done this cake loads of times, always a huge success.

However this time the girl (friend of a friend) told me that when she arrived at the location the cake had broke/split in half (!!!). She said she was very careful on the way, Always had the box on her lap and they drove very slowly, etc.

This is not a fragile dough, quite the contrary, it's compact, like a pound cake. I don't understand. This has NEVER happened before.

There was, however, one thing I did differently. I'm always terrified of what can happen during transportation, especially with naked cakes. Always scared that the top layer will simply slide off. So I researched a little bit and decided to purchase Wilton Bamboo Dowels Rods and I stuck one right down the middle of the two layers of cake thinking that this way, there was no way the top layer would slide off.

Before I would normally use very thin skewers, 2 or 3 on a 7 inches cake, that people would remove when arrived at the location. I thought this dowel would be more effective since with was much studier and because it was inside the cake it wouldn't leave any mark on the frosting (people just had to be aware it was there when cutting).

So for once I tried to really and professionaly secure my cake for transport, preventing it from sliding, it broke... in half... Oh the irony!