Help! Condensation Disaster On Crumb Coat Is There A Way To Save My Cake??

Decorating By nccakefan Updated 2 Jun 2016 , 3:35pm by nccakefan

nccakefan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nccakefan Posted 1 Jun 2016 , 1:51am
post #1 of 15

Hi,

I am new to cake central and was hoping that my first post would be cooler than this. I am new to baking tiered cakes and am making an all butter buttercream two tiered cake for my child's awards ceremony on Thursday evening.

I froze each layer triple wrapped individually in saran wrap a week ago, Took them out of the fridge this morning, let them sit maybe 20 minutes, filled with chocolate all butter buttercream frosting and then crumb coated with all butter buttercream. I had to take my child to dance, so I threw them back in the freezer and they ended up staying there for two hours (yikes. Life happened).

I moved them from to the fridge around 6:00 (NC time), after taking them out to inspect, and when I peeked an hour later the layers were sweating!!

It is super humid here in NC, so I am sure that opening the fridge is not helping. My question is this: is there a way that if I leave them in the fridge overnight, then remove the tiers to sealed boxes tomorrow, they will be ok to frost with ruffles by tomorrow evening?

Sorry so long, thanks for reading. If you made it this far I could use some advice!!

grin.png

14 replies
nccakefan Posted 1 Jun 2016 , 1:59am
post #2 of 15

I did not leave the plastic on (should have read all of the old posts on here better). I crumb coated still cool cakes, went to freezer ( no cover). Then brought out to inspect ( no cover) , then fridge (no cover). I am afraid to open the refrigerator again to try to cover them due to the humidity...

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 1 Jun 2016 , 2:47am
post #3 of 15