Need Advice And Encouragement

Decorating By kparks2 Updated 23 May 2016 , 2:32am by Cake-orations

kparks2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kparks2 Posted 22 May 2016 , 1:01pm
post #1 of 12

Maybe this is not the best spot for this but this weekend I had two cake orders (nothing too crazy) and both were disasters.

I am a home baker and I have never had major problems Roop my cakes apart from some minor imperfections in the decoration and I have had this LLC for almost two years. This weekend I had to re-do do both cakes and one as I just checked up continued to fall apart.

I can reflect on when decorating them that my first batch of my go to crusting butter cream was a thinner consistency and maybe adding a hot liquid to it instead of room temp was a bad idea. Maybe i added too much simple syrup I Dunno. I live in Florida by the way. I the buttercream overnight started to droop and sag at the bottom. 

I took the frosting off and did a more thicker consisted buttercream and ended up covering one of the cakes in frosting and it seemed to hold ok. The other one at room temp(which was for an event the next day) held fine at room temp and as soon as it hit the car when I got to the destination the icing sagged and cracked at the top. I asked this morning after suggesting the client put it in the fridge and she informed me the cake underneath started to crack.

Now I am anxious because my next order is for a bridal shower and now I am not confident that will turn out well. I am tempted to cancel all future orders and not do this anymore. Do you have an advice as to what I did wrong?

11 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 22 May 2016 , 1:16pm
post #2 of 12