New To Baking

Baking By Ziebells Updated 12 May 2016 , 12:59pm by RuthieAnn

Ziebells Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ziebells Posted 12 May 2016 , 12:10am
post #1 of 6

Hi I'm new to making cakes and have just been curious about the time frame, 

for example how many days can you allow your self to cook decorate before pick up? 

I have 4 cakes due on the weekend I try and keep it so my cakes are eaten on day 3 after baking but not sure what the normal is? I don't know if I will have enough time to do that, 3 will be plain chocolate and one white chocolate all filled with Italian meringue butter cream and covered with Mmf. 

Can I bake 4 days before will they still taste ok, I am making all cakes from scratch no packet mixes. 

Thansk in advance any advice would be great 

5 replies
remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 12 May 2016 , 12:37am
post #2 of 6

A lot of the bakers freeze their cakes and then thaw them out the day before they need them and decorate.  I am not sure how many days you can freeze for. I think some people freeze them for up to 2-3 weeks before they take out and cake is still fresh. I am only a hobby baker so hopefully the others will give you more information. I would not want to eat a cake that was sitting out for four days unless it had been frozen as they taste fresh once thawed out. 

Ziebells Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ziebells Posted 12 May 2016 , 12:52am
post #3 of 6

Oh ok thanks, maybe I'll try to freeze one and test it myself 

SoniaMT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SoniaMT Posted 12 May 2016 , 3:51am
post #4 of 6