Continue To Get Bubbles In My Buttercream

Decorating By koneal84 Updated 11 Jun 2016 , 4:48pm by ninatat

koneal84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
koneal84 Posted 4 May 2016 , 7:39pm
post #1 of 24

I have been decorating cakes for about 2 years now. I have recently started to get bubbles in just about every cake I make. A smooth iced cake has also fallen off the side of the cake before. With that being said, yes when I make a rosette cake they sometimes fall off. It's getting very frustrating to say the least. I don't know what is going on. I haven't changed my recipe up for my cakes or the buttercream. I'm not sure what to do. I did read that I could be mixing my iciing to much or to little. I have a kitchenaid stand up mixer and feel like I am mixing my icing the way I always have. I'm not sure where I am going wrong. I have always used Crisco shortening since I started making cakes. I know that I should change to a better brand but Crisco is convenient for me since I can get from Wal Mart and do not have to order online. There is no one around me that sales the better shortening unless I want to pay an arm and a leg for. Any help for me would be greatly appreciated. 

PS. If it comes down to it and I have to change to a better I will do it to keep this from continuing to happen.

Thank you in advance,

Kelly

23 replies
Tracyo18 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tracyo18 Posted 4 May 2016 , 8:10pm
post #2 of 24

I have never heard of that happening,. It could be something with the crisco...they are always changing things up with shortenings because of the transfats. I just need a good frosting recipe that doesn't have that shortening chemical after taste...  and is sturdy enough for piping and roses and taste good...ive tried butter and shortening mixed but it still has a weird taste. ..what kind of flavoring do you use? My family don't like almond. ..would you mind sharing your recipe?

640Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile