Starting A New Home Bakery Business - Help!

Business By cupcakesandus Updated 20 Apr 2016 , 8:28pm by cupcakesandus

cupcakesandus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakesandus Posted 16 Apr 2016 , 5:38pm
post #1 of 6

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the business and thinking of starting a home bakery in Denver, Colorado.

I am not sure where to start.

It would be great if anyone has some advice/tips!

On a second not has anyone purchased the CakeBoss Software? If so how do you like it and would you recommend it?

Thanks

5 replies
SimplyIcedCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SimplyIcedCC Posted 16 Apr 2016 , 6:52pm
post #2 of 6

http://forrager.com/law/colorado/

This is a good place to start reading if you haven't already :) making sure you know your in's and out's are always godo to know so call your local health department, etc.  I do not use the CakeBoss software but, I know other's on here do so hopefully they can help you out some :D

cupcakesandus Posted 16 Apr 2016 , 8:47pm
post #3 of 6

Thank you for the link.

I will defintley take a look at it.

:-)

ladyhawke917 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyhawke917 Posted 18 Apr 2016 , 7:49am
post #4 of 6

I am not a proffessional. I have toyed with the idea and did some research and here is what I got from it. I hope it helps! Best of luck!

1. Make a contract and use it. Spell out the details on what the person wants (as specifically as possible), how much and when the payment is due, the date the cake is due, and when the last date they can make changes is, who is responsible for delivery/ pick up and all those sorts of details. Put in a disclaimer that you are not responsible for damage done after delivery is accepted. If you are doing all the transactions by email and they can't sign, at least make them reply to the email by saying they have received and read it.