Making Layered Cakes

Baking By cmh07818 Updated 16 Feb 2016 , 12:36am by -K8memphis

cmh07818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmh07818 Posted 15 Feb 2016 , 3:44pm
post #1 of 7

So I'm somewhat new to baking.   I get very confused when recipes/ppl talk about layers of cake especially when it comes to come much batter to use in each pan.   How many cups of batter would I use for an 8in round and how many layers does that have? 

6 replies
Jinkies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jinkies Posted 15 Feb 2016 , 4:15pm
post #2 of 7

That's a good but tough question.  It's really trial and error.  Some recipes, like my vanilla sponge, I can only fill 1/2 way because that sucker will rise all the way to the top of a 2" high pan.  Some other recipes, I can fill the pan 2/3 or even 3/4 full because they don't rise much.

The Wilton site has some charts re: how much batter to put in each size pan.  But, really, just collar your pans and test your recipes-because they are all different.

As far as layers, that's up to you.  Most people will try to get a 2" high cake and tort it (split it in half) to make 2 layers  so 2 cake pans will get you 4 layers.

Other people, will put their batter in 3 or 4 pans and get shorter layer so they don't have to tort.  It's completely up to you and what method you like best.  You can do 1,2,3 or 4 layer cakes too.  Industry standard is 4 layers but, obviously, that's not a law :)

hth

Jinkies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jinkies Posted 15 Feb 2016 , 4:21pm
post #3 of 7

Wanted to ad, because I just saw your other thread re: sinking.  I just started working with 3" pans and I can tell you that some recipes won't hold up with too much batter in the pan, they will sink.  Others, I can get a good 3" rise with no sinking.