Convection Oven Help

Baking By mymamacakes Updated 24 Feb 2016 , 9:00am by T-Breakz

mymamacakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mymamacakes Posted 10 Feb 2016 , 5:04pm
post #1 of 7

I am fairly new to convection oven.  I got the best-rated Samsung convection oven in Consumer Reports.  It is a gas oven.

I have been changing my baking temp from 350 to 325.  However, I'm upset because my cakes still come out differently depending on where in the oven they are.  Those placed in 'front' come out light and beautiful.  Closer to the fan are darker.  Bottom rack, as usual, are darker too.  

I understand that issues like bottom-rack can't be completely resolved by convection, but I feel like there shouldn't be such a variety in the cakes it's baking.  For instance, I put about 9 cakes in my oven the other day, using all 3 racks.  They were a wide range of colors...from beautiful light golden yellow cake to deep orange/brown--which annoyed me.

Thoughts? Advice?  Oven came with zero explanation of using convection, other than where the button is!

6 replies
MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 10 Feb 2016 , 8:37pm
post #2 of 7

Getting a manual may help. You should be able to get one online so visit the Samsung website. If the manual doesn't answer your questions, contact customer service to request technical help.

Convection ovens have hot spots and uneven baking. They're fine for meat and other cooked items but not so great with baked goods. I once bought a GE best-rated convection oven because their marketing department claimed it could do three-rack baking. It sure couldn't! I had several conversations with them and eventually they sent a truck to remove it from my kitchen. They requested that I not purchase any other GE cooking products. I was banned from GE!

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 10 Feb 2016 , 8:41pm
post #3 of 7