First Go W/ Mmf

Decorating By BlueVelvet Updated 7 Jul 2016 , 3:03am by amiewid

BlueVelvet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlueVelvet Posted 19 Dec 2015 , 3:49pm
post #1 of 15

Hi new member here and a newbie in decorating cakes with fondant. So last wednesday i decided to get out of my comfort zone and try working with fondant, I decided that making MMF would be best since it's my first time and i don't want to waste store bought fondant on my first try of working with it. So i watched some instructional videos in youtube and started working on it. 

I started with a red velvet cake which is one of the common cakes i bake, filled it with cream cheese frosting and (Here is one of the mistakes i realize i did after reading up on some faqs) coated it with the cream cheese frosting, plopped it into the fridge then rolled out my fondant, removed my cake and covered it. I realized that there was something really wrong when the frosting started bleeding out under, but still i continued working on it. The fondant wasn't as smooth and was a little bit lumpy at some sides (i actually made myself believe it's because of my first time.) I placed it back into the fridge as i started working on little toppers i would be placing on top. now here is where my problems started.

When i removed the fondant covered cake from the fridge, and a few minutes of exposure at room temperature the fondant started to moist like it literally looked like a sweaty man who just jogged miles. it was wet and looked soggy and shiny. My reaction was just like watching a horror movie. 

I'm not sure where and what i did wrong. was it because i refrigerated it? is it not supposed to be refrigerated?

did i make a mistake in my MMF recipe? i think i added too much water into the marshmallows.

was it because of the added moisture from the food coloring. (I used liquid. Don't kill me please it was the only food coloring i had at the moment)