Cotton String Around Cake

Decorating By aprilfromLa Updated 4 Oct 2015 , 7:37pm by -K8memphis

aprilfromLa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilfromLa Posted 4 Oct 2015 , 2:54pm
post #1 of 7

I am not a pro. Just like doing cakes for family and friends out of hobby.  So my cousin asked me to make a really simple cake for my aunt's birthday this coming weekend. My aunt loves to catch blue crabs. We live in south louisiana so this is something that We do for recreation. Our favorite method is tying raw meat on the end of a thick cotton or nylon string and scooping the blue crabs up with a dip net. My cousin wants me to put this plastic crab that I haven't seen yet on top of a sheet cake. I was thinking of wraping the sides of the cake with the string and ending it in the crabs claw. Told you it was a really simple design. Now I'm worried about having the string touch the buttercream icing. Of course I would wash the string and then dry it. Should that be safe enough?  Tia 

6 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 4 Oct 2015 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 7

for a paid cake for the general public i would not do it -- for family i would -- few cotton strands never hurt any of my bunch --

in fact if i was in a good mood -- rare -- i would consider waxing it to use for a client but it might change the color and so that thought would ruin the mood so no not for the public either -- but it would be possible if it stayed white but why bother kwim -- using white wax would fix that but no too much trouble

*Last edited by -K8memphis on 4 Oct 2015 , 4:50pm
aprilfromLa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilfromLa Posted 4 Oct 2015 , 5:04pm
post #3 of 7

Thank you so much. The string is actually an off white. It doesn't matter what color it turns out because we can use a variety of colors to crab with. Waxing it would be a good idea. Sounds easy enough. I was just worried if there were any chemicals in the string.