Cake Stress Driving Me Crazy How Do Ull Do It?

Lounge By datewithacake Updated 5 Oct 2015 , 1:50am by Webake2gether

datewithacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
datewithacake Posted 1 Oct 2015 , 4:22am
post #1 of 23

I am new to decorating and only make cakes for family and friends, I am making my 2nd daughters birthday cake and everyone in my family hates it when i am making a cake as i am so stressed am i the only one or is it because i am new and i scratch bake which makes me nervous i love the decorating part more?

22 replies
Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 1 Oct 2015 , 6:07am
post #2 of 23

It probably is because you are just starting out and aren't as comfortable with your recipes as you will be.  Maybe you need to space out the different steps on different days so it isn't so much on one day. Ex: bake one day, cool, wrap & freeze; another day make icing, fill, crumb and final ice,  wrap and freeze again; day before you want to serve get cake to the right temp and cover with fondant if you want or do buttercream decorating, box until ready to serve.

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 1 Oct 2015 , 6:52am
post #3 of 23

Yeah...it's because you are new.  Until you've been able to do the same recipe, baked the same way, and decorated the same way with only small differences, and have made the same frosting/ganache/fondant 3 TIMES MINIMUM, you will be stressed.

Basically, every single time you try something "new", you have no idea how it will turn out and it takes forever and is never the way you "pictured it in your mind". 

I've been hobby baking since 2010 and recently was showing a newbie (like me in 2010) how to frost a cake with buttercream.  It was funny because she was the "former me" and she went, "OOOH  AAAH!  How can you get it so smooth????"  I just laughed and told her the reason I can get it so smooth is that I've already made most (but by no means all) of my early cake mistakes.