Fondant Under The Sea Decorations! Help Me Please!

Decorating By VixieLaa Updated 29 Sep 2015 , 7:21pm by Shockolata

VixieLaa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VixieLaa Posted 25 Sep 2015 , 7:37pm
post #1 of 16

Hi I'm a newbie and am after some advice please! It's a week until my little boys 3rd birthday (2nd October) and I'm going to make some fondant under the sea decorations for his cake. I'm super new to all this so am rather nervous I'm going to mess it up! I'm going to make an octopus, a crab, fish, some seaweed, couple of star fish, that kind of thing. Nothing toooooo complicated I hope! I've got some fondant icing all ready to go. Can I just ask how far in advance should I make the decorations? Do they need time to dry? If so how do I attach the dried decorations to the cake? Or do I make them on his birthday and put them straight on the cake? Sorry for really stupid questions!! Thank you so much for any advice :)

15 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 25 Sep 2015 , 10:44pm
post #2 of 16

make them in advance any time now -- yes they need to dry -- some people add tylose powder to fondant it so it will dry better and hold the shape -- i use cornstarch -- for a handful of fondant I'd knead in anywhere from a quarter cup to a cup of cs -- and i use store bought fondant --

my second and third attempts almost always look better than my first so when i model i plan to make at least two -- sometimes i hit it the first time --

best to you

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 25 Sep 2015 , 11:05pm
post #3 of 16