Entirely Distraught Over Recent Wedding Cake.... I Hated It!

Decorating By SweetsbyBailey Updated 6 Oct 2015 , 10:43am by SweetsbyBailey

SweetsbyBailey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetsbyBailey Posted 22 Sep 2015 , 5:04am
post #1 of 25

Hi everybody! I am fairly new here, i am currently a home baker and dealing with a not-so-great cake situation.

This past weekend i made a wedding cake for a sweet couple. However, the cake was not so great. Originally they had requested the bottom tier to look like an old fort, complete with a rounded triangle shape, wooden planking on the sides and cannons on each corner (because of her workplace and the location of the wedding) and then top two tiers to be rounds. The decoration on the top tiers were supposed to be delft blue tiles in a band around each layer. To top it all off they wanted the bride on the topper to be wearing a hat similar to indiana jones' hat... I tried to talk them into doing all round layers, that it would look elegant and classy and it really would have! But that was declined... Some weeks after the initial request went by and they did the tasting to decide a flavor, everything was still with the original plan. Two weeks ago the groom emailed me and said that instead of any round layers they would really like it to all be the rounded triangles but no wooden fort theme for the bottom. I was relieved at this because i thought it would really look like a train wreck no matter how i did it with the original sketch.

The week of the wedding i went on making my fondat tiles and imprinting them with the blue design, they turned out great, slightly varrigated color but i thought they were pretty. Then comes the wedding day... At this point i am absolutely hating the appearance of the rounded triangles and cannot believe that i agreed to make such a thing, all my pretty stencil work is being marred by the shape of the cake...