Kitchen Aid Commercial Nsf Stand Mixer

Baking By gwertheim Updated 29 Aug 2015 , 3:24am by gwertheim

gwertheim Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gwertheim Posted 29 Aug 2015 , 12:22am
post #1 of 6

Hey All,

Thinking of buying a stand mixer. I just started making cakes however I've been making pizza dough from scratch for a couple of months now.

Is it worth going for the 8 quart NSF mixer below or something else

https://www.kitchenaid.com/shop/-[KSM8990ER]-403976/KSM8990ER/

5 replies
Norcalhiker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norcalhiker Posted 29 Aug 2015 , 12:46am
post #2 of 6

everything I make pizza, cookies, cakes, cinnamon rolls, donuts, whatever, comes out of Bertha, my 15 yr old ultra power kitchenaid.  I'm told my baked goods are better than those sold retail locally.  Down the road is Bouchon; up the road is Dean and DeLuca, so I'm thinking it's not the mixer (hope Bertha didn't hear that) but the quality of ingredients and the knowledge of the baker.  

When we start out we rush to buy the best of everything.  I'm a firm believer in quality (my motto is, "cheap is expensive") but a top of the line mixer still makes a crappy cake when crappy ingredients are tossed inside.

deuceofcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deuceofcakes Posted 29 Aug 2015 , 1:21am
post #3 of 6