This Is One Reason Why Making A Living Cake Decorating Is Hard

Business By DJFIT9999 Updated 1 Aug 2015 , 8:09pm by FrostedMoon

DJFIT9999 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DJFIT9999 Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:00am
post #1 of 13

I saw this pricing sheet for cakes/cookies/truffles on my Facebook feed. The girl had tons of comments asking for availability. 

I realized this is why starting/sustaining a professional cake business where you actually make money is so difficult. People like her are crazy to do all this work for so little money.

http://www.cakecentral.com/gallery/i/3347391/cheap-cake-price-sheet

12 replies
SimplyCakesNMore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SimplyCakesNMore Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:06am
post #2 of 13

That just made my stomach turn...

Rosefox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rosefox Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:37am
post #3 of 13

I am not a professional cake maker however, feel for all professionals who have to come up against something like this.  I bet though, that these prices are not the ones this person ends up charging.  You will note it says "starting" price.  I think the final product will end up costing much more.  I can understand though, that when people see these prices and do not enquire any further they will expect the same cost from other cake makers.  It really is awful.

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:39am
post #4 of 13

Holy Cow!  Why bother "selling"?  She's working at a loss as soon as she turns on the oven even if she buys all her ingredients at the dollar store!  She must use all add water only mixes.

Natka81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Natka81 Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:40am
post #5 of 13

Cupcakes $ 8.00 dozen. Are you sure it's current price list? 

bakernoob Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakernoob Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:41am
post #6 of 13