Nervous About My First Fondant Cake

Decorating By sammie8921 Updated 31 Jul 2015 , 10:07pm by -K8memphis

sammie8921 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sammie8921 Posted 31 Jul 2015 , 3:53am
post #1 of 6

This is my first attempt at fondant ANYTHING and also my first 2 tier cake. It's for my nephew's birthday this Saturday. I'm nervous for a few reasons. One being that I crumb coated and refrigerated the cake Monday night. I'm concerned that it will taste "old". Also, I'm nervous about the quality of work that I did. I see many imperfections such as tears and dry, stretchy patches around the edges. My family and friends say it looks wonderful, but I think they're supposed to say that! I'm just here to find out what other cake decorators would think. Thank you in advance!

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 31 Jul 2015 , 5:00pm
post #2 of 6

were you going to post a picture? 

on one hand it seems you are in process of making it -- on the other it sounds like you've already finished it but maybe they ( your family & friends)  are just peaking at it in the meantime?

but I mean if this is all firsts and you got it all on there and in one piece bravo for trying something new -- just getting out of your comfort zone gives you a thousand amens -- if in fact it also looks good even more power to you -- and nothing wrong with a homely first or second (or any)  cake --

and yes friends & family are notorious for liking everything we do -- nothing wrong with that either --  but you already see you already see a couple booboos -- stick a little decor on it -- couple of swirls or stripes or a flower or leaf and enjoy his party!

-K8memphis Posted 31 Jul 2015 , 5:05pm
post #3 of 6