My First Post Here.hoping To Get Help From The Experts

Decorating By Lazybis Updated 25 Aug 2015 , 12:10am by imagenthatnj

Lazybis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lazybis Posted 27 Jul 2015 , 12:30pm
post #1 of 11

Hi

im not a professional baker and this is the first time I'm going to make a tiered cake for my daughter's birthday. 

By researching on the Internet and with friends' help, I have bought bubble tea straws to be used as dowels. My cake will have two tiers of 10" & 8". They will be covered in fondant and will have a cake board of 3mm in between. Since I need to transport the cake to the party venue, I want to use a centre dowel to prevent the cake from sliding. 

i didn't want to overspend so I thought bubble tea straws would be good enough as they won't go wasted afterwards. 

Now the question is how do I use a bubble tea straw as a centre dowel and pierce it down a cake board and the cake?😯

I do have thin wooden skewers at home. Can I use one of those as a centre dowel and the straws as other dowels? I'm in a dilemma and kind of freaking out now. I don't want to have a disaster 😞

looking forward to some help from all of you cake experts 😘

thanks in advance!

10 replies
Snowflakebunny23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 27 Jul 2015 , 1:33pm
post #2 of 11

Simple answer...you don't!  If you are using a centre dowel, you need something longer than bubble tea straws which will go right through both cakes and into the base board.  I think most use a sharpened wooden dowel rod?  It has to be pretty tough to perforate the cardboard.  In honesty, I have never actually done it.  I don't use a centre dowel and have transported 3/4-tier cakes many times with no problem.  If you only have a 10" and 8", I think a centre dowel is probably a bit overkill and using your bubble tea straws will be fine by themselves.

Good luck :-)

ssmore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ssmore Posted 27 Jul 2015 , 1:46pm
post #3 of 11