Help Please- I Have Been Asked To Do Something I Don't Know

Decorating By Knoxle Updated 8 Jul 2015 , 10:47pm by Apti

Knoxle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Knoxle Posted 7 Jul 2015 , 11:43pm
post #1 of 10

Hello, My friend has asked me to make her a cake for daughter's  birthday. She has asked for buttercream under fondant as she prefers the taste.....I have never used buttercream I always ganache. I  am scared it will ruin the look of the cake as I am only a beginner. I have been googling and have found I should use a crusting buttercream?  Any help, informations or tips will be greatly appreciated!!! 

9 replies
ohash01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ohash01 Posted 8 Jul 2015 , 12:04am
post #2 of 10

I have used Ermine Frosting, French BC, SMBC, and American BC under fondant, all depending on the texture/flavor I was going for.  I probably wouldn't do the Ermine again because it was a little too "squishy".  I've never used a "crusting" buttercream because I personally really dislike shortening-based frosting.  It all works out really well.  Just make it is as smooth as you would the ganache and plop that fondant right on top.  You will have to be a bit more gentle if you are using a fondant smoother on it because I've noticed that if I'm being aggressive, the fondant might shift a little around the base of the cake.  But again - if you're covering it with a border, no biggie.

Danely81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Danely81 Posted 8 Jul 2015 , 12:06am
post #3 of 10

Hello !

What do you mean ruin the look of the cake?