Help! My Cupcake Cases Keep Peeling Away!

Baking By Laurenbem1 Updated 8 Jul 2015 , 1:05pm by SquirrellyCakes

Laurenbem1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Laurenbem1 Posted 7 Jul 2015 , 5:44pm
post #1 of 6

Hi everyone...

I've been making cupcakes for a few months now and they was going perfect until a few weeks ago

But now EVERYTIME I bake them when they start to cool the cases are peeling away from the cupcakes, I can't work out where I've gone wrong..I use the same cupcake cases and recipe as always

Does anyone know why this is or what I can do to prevent this? 

Maybe I need another recipe or am I mixing the mixture too much?

Any suggestions would help!

5 replies
SquirrellyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SquirrellyCakes Posted 7 Jul 2015 , 6:36pm
post #2 of 6

The cupcake liner manufacturer has likely changed the product. I remember back about 10 years ago this was a complaint on this site. I think we discovered the issue was some sort of silicone or special treatment of the paper liners.

Funnily enough, we never had this problem with the cheaper liners, the ones that come in white or multi pastel colours. It was the patterned or decorator papers we had issues with.

The only other thing I can think it might be is if you have ever used those same muffin tins with any of the many non stick baking pan sprays. I have heard of these causing issues even though the pans were washed after the sprays were used.

cakebaker3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaker3 Posted 7 Jul 2015 , 10:19pm
post #3 of 6

Is it very humid where you live...I have had this happen to me on very humid days.

TheresaCarol Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheresaCarol Posted 8 Jul 2015 , 12:32pm
post #4 of 6