Deep Colored Wafer Paper With Petal Dust?

Decorating By AmberEileen Updated 1 Jul 2015 , 10:46pm by costumeczar

AmberEileen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmberEileen Posted 1 Jul 2015 , 2:53pm
post #1 of 4

I am trying to get a deep eggplant color as well as a deep wine color for wafer paper flowers on my wedding cake. Here is my Cake Rendering to help show you what I'm after. I have never used wafer paper before though I understand how to build the flowers – the coloring is the issue.

I read you can print the color on them using edible ink printer or airbrushing – both of these will cost more than I was hoping to spend, however. I tried using gel food coloring straight, then mixed with a clear alcohol. It turned out TOO saturated and a bit gloppy. Perhaps I should try it in light layers instead?

The other option I thought of trying was petal dust (perhaps mixed with vegetable oil?) but I’m afraid it might not get dark/saturated enough. My Google searches for truly deep colored wafer paper hasn’t turned up much - I mostly see the lighter, brighter versions.

Have any of you accomplished the look I’m going for using the petal dust or another inexpensive method I haven't thought of/tried? 

3 replies
pastrypet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastrypet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 1 Jul 2015 , 10:46pm
post #4 of 4