Egg Crisis Omg

Business By Whiteflower1 Updated 30 Jun 2015 , 9:00pm by Kabodi.Cakes

Whiteflower1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Whiteflower1 Posted 25 Jun 2015 , 12:32am
post #1 of 8

Just curious if anyone is losing their mind over this national egg shortage issue. We currently can't even order our egg whites from our distributor Sysco....Cracking and seperating eggs for large batches of buttercream made 24/7 is going to be a nightmare. We have had to enforce a price increase on our retail cupcakes to accomodate the increase in our cost of goods. How are you guys handling this????

Marianne

White Flower Cake Shoppe

7 replies
mccantsbakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mccantsbakes Posted 25 Jun 2015 , 3:41am
post #2 of 8

In CA, our eggs just went up in price due to a law that gives chickens more cage space.  Our increase was 2.50 a doz to 5 bucks a doz.   sticker shock.    Sigh.  

It has definitely affected my choice in SMB over ABC for ALL cakes.    I am a hobbyist at this point with pipe dreams of someday making money, but no where near ready.     So it's all out of pocket for me at this point.    

On the upside, I am beginning to master smooth ABC which I always found tedious.   And I have learned to make SMB with carton egg whites (I can't justify the yolk waste at this point)

I haven't noticed a shortage though, just high prices at our grocers.

I bought cage free, brown, organic fancy eggs the other day for a dollar less a dozen than conventionally farmed eggs.....

My husband and I are toying with the idea of getting a few hens for our backyard since we are zoned for it and they are great for many things like pest control, fertilizer  and of course, eggs.  

jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 25 Jun 2015 , 8:07pm
post #3 of 8