Fondant Making A Bubbly Mess

Decorating By 1tyty Updated 26 Jun 2015 , 10:48pm by Winkinpa

1tyty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1tyty Posted 16 Jun 2015 , 12:20pm
post #1 of 29

I have been decorating with fondant for the last five years. I have been doing the same thing nothing new, this is why I am perplexed at my latest fondant/baking issues. First off air bubbles under fondant, and not the small ones, I mean the big giant bubbles, the last three cakes I made I have encountered this issues. Please somebody tell me why, I have a couple of cakes to make this week and I really need to avoid this issue. I usually bake, cool, wrap, and freeze for a day or two. Take out the freezer, partially thaw, fill, crumb coat, and then in the fridge for 20 minutes, immediate final coat and back in the fridge for another 20-30 minutes, no longer than an hour, cover in fondant. I usually cover in fondant as soon as I take it out of the fridge, but I recently started to experience heavy sweating that did not stop (another recent problem). The last two times I did not put the fondant on right out of the fridge, I let it sit for about 15 minutes first, if I let the cake sit right out the fridge or not I still got the bubbling issue, I dont know what I am doing wrong, Please help! I have researched this and have read about not putting fondant on a cold cake, but I have always done this with no issues until recent, I also read about American buttercream being the issue, I have always used AB with no problem, I have never used anything else, I wanted to try ganache but it does not go with all cake flavors. My second issue is the last two cakes I made I have experienced, a very heavy cake with gummy streaks in the cake, again I did nothing different, I use box cake, I add and extra egg and I use butter instead of oil, and a pack of pudding, I do this to make it dense but still moist, and I NEVER had an issue, people always think the cake is scratch, I had to throw the cakes out twi