Looking For Advice On Oven

Baking By satimis Updated 16 Jun 2015 , 9:13pm by SquirrellyCakes

satimis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
satimis Posted 16 Jun 2015 , 11:54am
post #1 of 5

Hi all,

I'm looking for an electric oven for home, mainly for baking loaf and cake.  I have no pre-set budget but size is my concern. 

Today steam ejection feature is quite popular.  Recommendation would be appreciated.

Thanks

Regards
satimis

4 replies
SquirrellyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SquirrellyCakes Posted 16 Jun 2015 , 12:26pm
post #2 of 5

If size is a concern, what are your size specifications?

As far as the steam ejection feature, I have no experience with it.  From what I have read on the subject, there are mixed reviews. This feature seems to be more popular with yeast bread makers.

I cannot personally imagine it being a good thing when baking cakes, pies, cookies, quickbreads and soda risen loaves. I would think it would create a bit of a rubbery texture with certain recipes.

As far as for those who have used gas ovens for baking and find gas drying for cakes, maybe they welcome the difference.  I am not a fan of gas for baking but I love it for cooking and I have a gas cooktop.

I have a 30 inch Jenn-Air convection wall oven.  I am not big on convection baking so I use it like a regular oven.  Originally with this house, I had a 27 inch Jenn-Air wall convection oven and absolutely loved the results it produced but missed those 3 extra inches.  So I replaced it with a 30 inch.  It is wonderfully accurate and bakes evenly and beautifully and I wouldn't trade it for anything.  Love it!

SandraDee73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraDee73 Posted 16 Jun 2015 , 12:35pm
post #3 of 5