I Never Want To Have This Happen Ever Again...

Business By SandraDee73 Updated 18 Jun 2015 , 12:16pm by SandraDee73

SandraDee73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraDee73 Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 12:41pm
post #1 of 37

So I'm still fairly new to cake decorating and wanted to share probably the most horrible gut-wrenching experience I've ever had since I started.

I had my most expensive cake to deliver yesterday. It was a beautiful 3 tiers christening cake. I was so happy with how it turned out and even more thrilled that I finished in plenty of time to take pictures the next morning before delivery.

I woke up to my husband yelling from the dining room. The cake had collapsed and was in a huge heap on my table. I felt so sick to my stomach. I had 6 hours before I had to deliver this cake. I was on the verge of breaking down until my husband gave me a mental shove to get to work. I've never baked, torted, filled, iced, covered in fondant, and decorated a cake so fast in my life. Again, the cake was gorgeous and I dare say a little better than the first one.

I called my client to let her know I was running about 45 minutes behind schedule, but I was on my way. I took pictures, boxed the cake, and got the car cool (it was so hot). I felt sick the whole ride to the clients house. We drove so carefully. Didn't realize there would be such steep hills or sharp turns, but we drove at a snails pace.

Finally made it and the party planner was still setting up, so we made good time. My husband and I brought the box in and opened it up. It had collapsed...again. My stomach went down to my feet and I wanted to cry. I felt SO horrible. And just then, the client walked in with her little baby, so the cake and the look on her face made me want to hang my head. Only the top tier was sort of in tact. The other bottom two tiers were very squashed. I told her how very sorry I was and that I would be giving her a full refund.