How To Bake A Tall 9X13 Cake

Baking By kakko Updated 15 Feb 2016 , 3:44pm by kakko

kakko Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakko Posted 23 May 2015 , 12:46pm
post #1 of 16

Hello, 
I'm new to baking tall cakes. My son has requested a race track cake for his 5th birthday. I want to make a 9x13 cake that is several inches tall. I've Google searched and read several posts on here and everyone says something different. So what is the best way to make a tall 9x13? Here are all of the things people have suggested:

* Make 2- 9x13 pans with 1 box of cake mix each
* Make 2- 9x13 pans with 1 1/2 boxes of cake mix each
* Make 1 9x13 pan with 1 box of cake mix and the extender recipe
* Make 2 9x13 pans with 1 box of cake mix and the extender recipe each
* Make 1 9x13 pan with 2 boxes of cake mix and then level the top

I don't have an specific height needed, just something with some decent height to make a black and white checkered pattern around the outside. I have 2 boxes of cake mix so if I don't have to pack 2 kids up and go to the store for a 3rd box, that would be really great. Thanks for your input and sorry if this is asked all of the time. I really tried to find the answer on my own but everyone says something different. 

This is close to what I plan to make for reference: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/228417012323548110/

15 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 23 May 2015 , 1:32pm
post #2 of 16

I don't use box mixes and can't tell you what hight they would have. But since you are not looking for a specific hight anyway I would go with the amount of servings you need. So if one box mix serves (no clue!) let's  say 20 person and you want the cake to serve 30,then use 1.5 box mixes. If it's not super high you could only do 2 lines of black and white along the side. Am sure that's no problem. 

julia1812 Posted 23 May 2015 , 1:32pm
post #3 of 16