Is This A Bad Thing?

Decorating By Island girl Updated 28 Apr 2015 , 7:35pm by Apti

Island girl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Island girl Posted 19 Apr 2015 , 11:02pm
post #1 of 15

I am a newbie that has only done 6 cakes or so for friends and family. There is an amazing local cake decorator a few towns away but same county. I've had friends buy birthday cakes from her in the past and her buttercream is so smooth it looks like fondant. She's amazing. Would it be rude to ask her to show me/teach me how she gets her buttercream so flawless? Of course I'd pay her for it but I'm just nervous to ask. Tia! 

14 replies
DeniseNH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeniseNH Posted 19 Apr 2015 , 11:23pm
post #2 of 15

It depends.  1.) on the temperament of the decorator and 2.) if she considers you a "threat".  It takes a very long time to develop the perfect technique and usually depends on the type of icing she uses - so to teach you - she would need to also give you her icing recipe and hints on how she builds her cakes and fills them because they're all interrelated.  You say teach me how to ice a cake like you do  (one thing), the decorator sees five things she now needs to teach you and if she does, will you take some of her potential customers?  So, like I said in the beginning, it really depends.  You can start out with a compliment and see where that goes - she'll either say yes or no and then you'll know.  There's so many videos now on you tube about how to do this - have you tried that avenue?

Gingerlocks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gingerlocks Posted 19 Apr 2015 , 11:25pm
post #3 of 15

Well ya you could ask and see what she say's..but honestly when people ask me to teach them my trick's; even when they offer to pay the answer is no. Think about it you are competition and you want to know her "signature" technique...I'd say no if I was her. Sure you have every right to ask..but if I were you I'd expect her to decline.