Cake Decorator Jobs/ Job Searching

Business By k3lli3n Updated 24 Apr 2015 , 10:24pm by RoyalTreatz

k3lli3n Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k3lli3n Posted 18 Apr 2015 , 5:56pm
post #1 of 6

I recently left my job as a cake decorator at a grocery store. I had been working for the company for nearly four years, and I am ready to go back to a small business. I don't hate the process of looking for a job, but it has become pretty tiring. 

From my experience (applying to small businesses):

• Always bring your resume, references, portfolio, and dress in chef attire or interview appropriate attire
  • ServSafe Certification is a plus 
  • Bring the tools you are comfortable using (cake combs, spatulas, etc.)
  • Display as many skills as you can during your interview (show that you can be a well-rounded team member)
  • Stick to your requested compensation, don't settle- get what you deserve

Anyone have any advice for someone looking for a cake decorator job?

Kellien

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 18 Apr 2015 , 6:15pm
post #2 of 6

i never brought tools to an interview that i can remember -- i used their methods and equipment -- or did the best i could with it -- they usually assign you a cake to do -- 

one place had me do a sculpture (for a paying client) without notice or even a picture -- not surprisingly the worst place i ever worked -- one place had me dig though dozens of messy sticky leftover piping bags to get enough icing to work with -- one place had me ice a chocolate cake with the stiffest white icing on the planet -- 'no, they don't thin the icing' (ha! my big toe!) 

most places i've interviewed wanted a team member so displaying a lot of skills can fray nerves -- unless it's a head decorator spot -- so think carefully about that one -- you definitely want to display your speed however