Cake Topper Design--Help Needed

Decorating By TurksandCaicos Updated 15 Apr 2015 , 6:57pm by TurksandCaicos

TurksandCaicos Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TurksandCaicos Posted 9 Apr 2015 , 8:14am
post #1 of 9

I am attempting to design and make a cake topper for a 6 inch round cake.  This cake will be a child's cake at their upcoming birthday.  Problem is, I'm stumped as to how to construct something like this.  I'm also very new to the world of cake decorating.  

Here is a link to the cake topper I would ideally like to mimic:  

https://www.etsy.com/listing/166820044/hello-kitty-cake-topper-with-name-and

The description for this cake topper says that it comes in a cake pick that just pushes into the cake.  I can't find one of these cake picks anywhere.  It is possible I'm not searching for the right term though.  I've found several cake picks but they are already decorated, not blank.  The closest thing I can think of that I've seen to this is something I saw at Hobby Lobby that goes into the cake and that flowers sit in.  Though these things didn't look like they could hold a cake topper still.  

My main question---how would I even go about making something like that cake topper?  I know I could put all the decorations on wires, cake pop sticks or skewers and simply put them in the cake directly.  Though if there is a way to put them in a  pick and get it to not topple over due to weight and height, that would be great.  

I am open to any suggestions or input anyone would have for me.  I feel really lost right now and I'm not sure what exactly I need to do. 

8 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 9 Apr 2015 , 3:52pm
post #2 of 9

Okay, here is what I would do: