Need Help With New Crystal Candy "isis Lace Mat"

Sugar Work By LauraLovesCake Updated 2 Apr 2015 , 3:40pm by -K8memphis

LauraLovesCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LauraLovesCake Posted 2 Apr 2015 , 12:56am
post #1 of 6

This is my first time making the Homemade Sugar Lace mixture from SbCakes on You-tube & Sugar Tree's Lace Recipe on You-tube. My mixture is very gelatin like and is very difficult to smooth into this VERY Detailed Isis Lace Mat.  Has anyone else had any trouble using the homemade sugar lace recipe with Crystal Candy's new Isis Lace Mat. Any help would be appreciated.

I used the mixer to mix up all the ingredients just like the videos and still struggling for it to come out right. Thanks in advance. This is to be on a Wedding Cake that is due in 2 days..so kinda freaking out!  

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 2 Apr 2015 , 2:04pm
post #2 of 6

no sorry never used any of that before -- my advice is for going forward -- never wait this long to try something new -- if you can't test it two or three weeks to a month in advance -- don't do it -- 

can you get a hold of any of the other products of this type -- 

can you take a few small parts of the mixture and test what happens with 

1. water
  2. more icing sugar
  3. add both water and sugar
  4. piping gel
i've got a gelatin book -- i can go look up something in there -- brb --

hope somebody with experience pipes up for you soon -- how's it going?

Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 2 Apr 2015 , 3:03pm
post #3 of 6

Crystal Candy has made that mat specifically to work with their product. It might not be interchangeable to be able to work with homemade fake lace crap.

LauraLovesCake Posted 2 Apr 2015 , 3:15pm
post #4 of 6